Unlucky for some

It’s really unlucky to be autistic, isn’t it? If one in a hundred people is autistic, you’d have had to get pretty unlucky for you to be the one, wouldn’t you? And some families seem to get it particularly bad, having several?! Well – no. That last part’s probably nothing to do with luck because autism seems to be quite genetic and therefore runs in families. But as to it being unlucky to be autistic? Well – there’s some nuance to that. Disability is not a tragedy – as a society we need to move on from that idea. But it can be a bothersome nuisance not to be able to do things that the majority of society can do. Being different is only a superpower in the right circumstances.

[I made a half-humorous New Year’s resolution to write this blog in limerick form (occasionally!) and I enjoyed myself too much with limericks earlier in the week so I’m sticking with it. Friday the 13th needs all the cheering up it can get. Nuance of meaning is likely to be limited, for which apologies.]

My brain wants to see black and white;

Making things either sadness or light.

But my autism’s mixed;

Both between and betwixt.

It’s neither all gloom nor delight.

I’m not here to be inspiration

To some, nor to offer frustration.

I’m different, yes

But need not have distress

There’s room for all sorts in our nation.

What matters is banging the drum,

For acceptance and knowledge to come.

Neurodifference is not

A shame or a blot

It’s only unlucky for some.

A lifetime of people know-how

Has helped me to function somehow.

But how poor my prognosis

Before diagnosis;

How lucky I am to know now.

It’s difficult to express nuance in limerick form, but if nothing else I’d like to emphasise that an autism diagnosis is not a tragedy; it’s more likely to be a liberation. Knowledge and freedom are risky, and being different brings dangers of its own, but it’s so much better to understand why you’re different than not. Being autistic is neither lucky nor unlucky – but being autistic and not knowing it is bad fortune indeed.

Published by Helen Jeffries

Helen Jeffries is currently a Deputy Director working on healthcare for Ukrainian refugees in the Department of Health and Social Care. Prior to that she was a DD in the Cabinet Office Covid Task Force, which she joined on loan from DHSC where she had been working on Covid response and the Covid Contact Tracing App. Helen was diagnosed autistic five years ago. “I thought then that being autistic was a total barrier to career progression as I couldn’t see any openly autistic senior civil servants. Recent national crises have given me progression opportunities so now I’m attempting to be the open autistic role model I lacked myself. I do that by being an active campaigner in the public sector for more understanding of autism and acceptance of autistic colleagues.”

3 thoughts on “Unlucky for some

  1. You are so right when you state that misfortune lies, not in being Autistic, but in not knowing you are.

    Without explanation we are left to be battered about by the judgement and assumptions of the world, not to mention the sometimes harsher self judgements we make.

    Knowing is everything…it’s our only chance to carve a path that suitable and supportive and a chance to reframe a narrative of ‘broken’ to one of ‘different’.

    Self identification and then a following diagnosis was quite literally life saving for me and re-routed me from a path of shame and pain onto one of assurance and advocacy.

    My awakening to myself (as a late diagnosed adult) and my subsequent learning, resulted from the shared stories of other late diagnosed adults.

    May we always stand in a boldness that allows us to speak our stories, so that we may pass that true gift of realisation to others.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started