Change limericks

It ought to be possible to build reasonable adjustments for autism into change management. But that probably sounds very difficult, doesn’t it? It does to me and I AM autistic. But it needn’t be, I hope. As an autistic staff member, the things I fear about change are loss of the scaffolding around me that I need to function, and humiliation that I may miss messages that everyone else picks up. It’s often the case that change management communications are couched in hints and nuances that “those in the know” will pick up. That might feel like a good way to do communication fitted to multiple levels of understanding, but it excludes autistic colleagues and leaves us feeling that we’re fools for not “reading between the lines”.

What I try to do when managing change myself, and love to receive when I get it, are the following.

  • Be clear, honest and literal, including about timings. Don’t leave autistic colleagues to infer things.
  • Don’t over-promise or provide blanket (non-literally true) reassurances in order to make yourself feel better.

The clue’s there for those in the know

The hints and the wording may show

What’s happening next,

It’s in the context,

But autistics are left feeling slow.

Please tell me and make it quite clear.

It’s not lack of facts that I fear –

It’s feeling left out –

Because of my doubt

That I understand what you mean here.

If you make me a promise please keep it

I’ll hear the phrase just as you speak it

And literally feel

That that was the deal

Not some subtle reword as you tweak it.

Say nothing and I will fear worse

Than you can imagine: a curse

Or horror, and so

Please be open – I know

It feels weird and you are averse.

It may seem quite a big incongruity

That I must know the worst exiguity.

My brain needs clear comms

Please drop your truth bombs!

It’s not that I fear ambiguity.

Apologies for the metre in that last one – “ambiguity” is a bit of a stinker of a rhyme…

[Updated to add: no, really, ambiguity is not the problem for me. What I struggle with is when I misunderstand a communication about ambiguity and interpret things as more certain than was intended. For example by taking something literally. I would take “I’m sure it’s going to be alright” not as “vague encouraging sentiment about uncertain times” but “everything is going to stay the same”. And when I was wrong I’d get wrong-footed and embarrassed.

As always, other autistics’ mileage may vary.]

Published by Helen Jeffries

Helen Jeffries is currently a Deputy Director working on healthcare for Ukrainian refugees in the Department of Health and Social Care. Prior to that she was a DD in the Cabinet Office Covid Task Force, which she joined on loan from DHSC where she had been working on Covid response and the Covid Contact Tracing App. Helen was diagnosed autistic five years ago. “I thought then that being autistic was a total barrier to career progression as I couldn’t see any openly autistic senior civil servants. Recent national crises have given me progression opportunities so now I’m attempting to be the open autistic role model I lacked myself. I do that by being an active campaigner in the public sector for more understanding of autism and acceptance of autistic colleagues.”

One thought on “Change limericks

Leave a comment

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started