Peaks and troughs

I work in sprints – bursts of intense productivity that are interspersed with periods of needing to do something else, and to be honest that “something else” might include staring out of the window. The same pattern as a sprinter who might run incredibly fast for a short time and then need a break. Unfortunately for me, the “norm” of working seems to be the opposite: steady progress throughout the day. Someone like that won’t be as fast as me over short periods, but will get at least as much done in total.

My impression is that in professional life we value workers who fit the marathon pattern – it’s easiest for a manager to keep track of productivity if it’s fairly consistent through the day, so you know that any one hour of work is going to be roughly equivalent to another. Ideally, I suspect many firms would like people who can sprint continuously all day – some can, but many try and burn out. I can’t work like that, but I feel the pressure to fit in and keep going consistently through the day. That leads me to mask my working pattern as well as my autism.

My autism itself’s a source of shame

I hide it from the world to dodge the stares

Of fearful puzzlement or often blame

That how my brain is isn’t quite like theirs.

I’m blunt or literal or over-keen

And people are exhausting – words go wrong

But even when I can say what I mean

I have to lie about my work – how long

It takes me to do things – I am too fast

Or else too slow; I work in bursts like sprints

Then rest, but make the work look like lasts

Me through the day in reassuring stints.

You want me to be normal, that I know –

It’s just I’m not (but mustn’t let it show).

Published by Helen Jeffries

Helen Jeffries is currently a Deputy Director working on healthcare for Ukrainian refugees in the Department of Health and Social Care. Prior to that she was a DD in the Cabinet Office Covid Task Force, which she joined on loan from DHSC where she had been working on Covid response and the Covid Contact Tracing App. Helen was diagnosed autistic five years ago. “I thought then that being autistic was a total barrier to career progression as I couldn’t see any openly autistic senior civil servants. Recent national crises have given me progression opportunities so now I’m attempting to be the open autistic role model I lacked myself. I do that by being an active campaigner in the public sector for more understanding of autism and acceptance of autistic colleagues.”

One thought on “Peaks and troughs

  1. The recurring theme of concealment and non acceptance that echoes through your poem is something every workplace really needs to address. There really is no hiding the reality of what you expose here.

    We just can’t have a world in which one prescribed way is ‘the right way’ and any deviation is deemed suspect and unacceptable. We can’t have so many people showing up for work each day, with half (or more) of their energies already allocated to the task of being an adept illusionist productivity-wise.

    Autistic people are not trying to be Mavericks, we’re simply working with our natural ways of being that work with the fluctuations in the focus, energies and attention that we experience.

    The natural desire for clarity, honesty and transparency; ever-present in the Autistic community is decidedly at odds with all this ‘acting lark’. We mask enough, at such great cost. Surely things can change, to excuse us this extra daily performance?…

    Like

Leave a comment

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started