Leading is listening

Wandering around talking to people doesn’t feel like proper “work” work, even though it takes some effort and can be really productive. My autistic brain is absolutely determined that sitting at my desk churning out written work is proper work or – at a pinch – attending meetings. It’s a real struggle for my autistic brain to regard talking to people as work, partly because it doesn’t feel like a concrete thing done, and partly because it’s not what comes naturally to me. But I rationalise it to myself that there are some days – possibly a lot of days – when it really is my job just to talk to people, but most of all, to listen. Who knows what I might find out?

Some days you feel there’s nothing that’s been done

You talked to people, listened, nodded, smiled,

But haven’t written much; decisions: none,

And absolutely nothing has been filed.

And you’re exhausted from what feels like work –

You’ve found the right response to one and all

And been a leader, managing each quirk

And question, worry, plea, the random call

That heralds aggravation you can’t bear

Or shocks autistic brains (like yours) don’t need

Or just demands that you must show you care

It’s all the basis of the way you lead.

You might feel nothing’s done but know this too:

That talking, listening is work, for you.

Published by Helen Jeffries

Helen Jeffries is currently a Deputy Director working on healthcare for Ukrainian refugees in the Department of Health and Social Care. Prior to that she was a DD in the Cabinet Office Covid Task Force, which she joined on loan from DHSC where she had been working on Covid response and the Covid Contact Tracing App. Helen was diagnosed autistic five years ago. “I thought then that being autistic was a total barrier to career progression as I couldn’t see any openly autistic senior civil servants. Recent national crises have given me progression opportunities so now I’m attempting to be the open autistic role model I lacked myself. I do that by being an active campaigner in the public sector for more understanding of autism and acceptance of autistic colleagues.”

Leave a comment

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started