Selling yourself

Training on selling yourself will probably focus on encouraging you to be authentically yourself but the best version of yourself, to be clear about your strengths, and about what you personally (rather than a team you’re in) have achieved. But if you’re autistic that simple and positive-sounding set of suggestions comes with a bunch of problems.

I want to sell you “me” but first: which me?

The real one that I hide that leads to shame

Or just the mask I wear to let you see

A person more like you that you won’t blame?

I’ve strengths I know, but do you want to hear

The ones that make me “weird,” or more like you?

I’m good at patterns, honesty, am clear;

But you might fear my bluntness in your view

As threats/impertinence, and turn me down.

Or also you might find my mask unreal,

My tries at friendliness: playing the clown.

I really don’t see how I can appeal.

The sad truth is I’m different from you

You might like that – or not – what can I do?

Published by Helen Jeffries

Helen Jeffries is currently a Deputy Director working on healthcare for Ukrainian refugees in the Department of Health and Social Care. Prior to that she was a DD in the Cabinet Office Covid Task Force, which she joined on loan from DHSC where she had been working on Covid response and the Covid Contact Tracing App. Helen was diagnosed autistic five years ago. “I thought then that being autistic was a total barrier to career progression as I couldn’t see any openly autistic senior civil servants. Recent national crises have given me progression opportunities so now I’m attempting to be the open autistic role model I lacked myself. I do that by being an active campaigner in the public sector for more understanding of autism and acceptance of autistic colleagues.”

Leave a comment

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started