Too many people!

I went to a very interesting conference this week. There were lots of talks and panel events and an exhibition hall full of stalls. All very worthwhile – and yet… And yet… until I worked out how to manage myself in that environment, it was near to torture. I arrived mid morning and went to a session on accessibility which was very good (except the display screens were a bit intermittent which made it hard to focus) and I managed to arrive in enough time to bag a seat at the end of a row though, which meant I had one side where there weren’t people ALL around me. I got through the session OK but was feeling a bit stressed because of the volume of people, the noise levels and the flashing screen.

Then I had a gap of about an hour until my next session so I decided that was the moment to look at the exhibition hall. This was my mistake. Around midday the exhibition hall was absolutely heaving with people – it was loud, it was hot, and it was crowded. Just being in that environment made me immediately stressed, and yet my autistic conscientiousness meant I felt I had to look at every stall. There was very little room to get along the rows between stalls so I kept being held up and having too many people in my personal space. I had brought my noise-cancelling headphones with me, but I realised I was too stressed that someone might try to talk to me and I wouldn’t hear them and seem rude to actually use them. And owing to my autistic tendency not to notice how I feel or how stressed I am, I didn’t realise how bad it was until it stopped.

Once I had – methodically – up one aisle and down the next – been to every stall I decided I could allow myself a break. Intellectually my brain was saying “you’re autistic and it’s OK to find this environment overwhelming so why don’t you get away from it for a bit?” but somehow I found it hard to accept that. Possibly my internalised ableism was telling me I should just try harder and get the maximum value out of my time at this conference by doing more things. I walked a nice long way away from the main hall, found a quiet spot, sat down with a book, and things soon improved.

For the rest of the day, I actually enjoyed myself a lot more. I met a number of colleagues from previous roles who I was happy to see again, and went to some very good panel sessions. But really I think the enjoyment came from the fact that I’d found how to escape when I needed to. In the morning I hadn’t known there was somewhere quiet to escape to and I hadn’t felt able to accept that I needed such a thing. In the afternoon I knew where I could have alone time and had noticed how much difference it made. And actually just knowing my needs could be met, meant I was much less stressed, and didn’t in fact need another alone-time break.

Published by Helen Jeffries

Helen Jeffries is currently a Deputy Director working on healthcare for Ukrainian refugees in the Department of Health and Social Care. Prior to that she was a DD in the Cabinet Office Covid Task Force, which she joined on loan from DHSC where she had been working on Covid response and the Covid Contact Tracing App. Helen was diagnosed autistic five years ago. “I thought then that being autistic was a total barrier to career progression as I couldn’t see any openly autistic senior civil servants. Recent national crises have given me progression opportunities so now I’m attempting to be the open autistic role model I lacked myself. I do that by being an active campaigner in the public sector for more understanding of autism and acceptance of autistic colleagues.”

One thought on “Too many people!

Leave a comment

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started